Stars of the World Cup – Illugi Jökulsson

World Soccer Legends

Everything you need to know about most exciting clubs and the best players on the planet.

Learn all about twenty-eight of the best players competing for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, from unstoppable scorers like Messi and Ronaldo to crafty playmakers like Iniesta and Modric, and ironclad defenders like Philipp Lahm and Thiago Silva.

Get the inside scoop on their strengths and weaknesses heading into the showdown in Brazil.

See incredible action shots of their on-field wizardry.

image

I requested a copy of this book from NetGalley as I thought my 9 year old son might enjoy it, and oh boy was I right! As soon as he got his hands on it, he was gone for a good half an hour, and this from a boy who usually only reads under duress.

Having finally managed to get a look at the book myself (!) I have to say, it’s really great, and ideal for kids who are into football. It details 28 World Cup stars, their background, nicknames and good and bad points. I like the fact that it’s clear some of the stars have come from very underprivileged backgrounds, showing that anyone can make it in football if they have the talent.

With stars such as Rooney, Messi and my son’s favourite, Neymar, there are plenty of well known names (even for me, and I’m really not bothered about football!) to investigate. Each double page spread is devoted to a different player, with gorgeous full colour photos of each in an ‘action’ shot – much better than a series of posed photos.

Here’s what my son says:

Good points / bad points? It had lots of information about the players but it didn’t have a player from every single team.
Who would like it? Football fans age 7-10.
Should I buy it? Yes, because it has lots of good facts about lots of different players. The pictures are very good because they are mostly of them shooting, except for the goal keeper who was saving a goal.
Rating: 4.5/5

Personally, I feel this book is suitable for a wider audience than my son! Because of the quality of the pictures, even early readers would like this book, and I suspect football fans up to the age of 12 or so would still enjoy reading the facts on each player.

Highly recommended.

Disclaimer: I was provided with a free e-copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, but all opinions are mine (and Isaac’s!).

Leave a comment